My Life – Above Ground


Foodie
May 19, 2008, 6:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Hi, my name is Mike, and I’m a foodie.  I love to prepare and eat good food.  I very much enjoy partaking in various kinds of beverage merriment.  Sad thing is that the majority of our society is in a persistent ‘hurry up and go’ state – not taking the time to relax in preparing a meal, smelling its amora and admiring the final result before wolfing it all down.  

I had a conversation recently about favorite foods and drinks, and realized that I don’t have a favorite food per se.  I can, however, classify some of my favorites into categories of cuisines.  For instance, I love curry and coconut milk – so, I naturally like numerous Thai dishes.  I also like the mixture of vinegar, peppercorns and bay leaves – hence my love for Adobo – the well-known Filipino dish (and my wife makes the best, of course).  Also, balsamic  vinegar & olive oil makes a great glaze for grilled chicken – something that’s on a number of menus at Italian eateries.  

Panang Chicken

  Chicken Adobo

Balsamic Chicken

As far as drinks are concerned, I’m almost exclusively a martini guy.  I enjoy a good, cold beer and nice glass of red wine every once in a while, but I love the mixture of vodka with various other liqueurs.  I’m also kind of a simpleton – I like plan old-fashioned water with my meals, with the occassional iced tea. 

Vodka Martini

How about you?  Please share with me some of your favs…

Cheers…


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Martini? I’ve only seen you drink screwdriver.

As for me, it’s Rolling Rock all the way. Or, Corona! 🙂

Comment by Chris

You’re right, man. But screwdriver’s are much like vodka martini’s…

You’re also right about Coronas… nothing beats a cold Corona on a hot day…

Comment by mwrichardson

i LOVE brasillian food. I ate some of the best food I’ve ever had in brasil. With that said, and in the tropic spirit, I really enjoy mojitos and caipirinhas. I also like spanish food – like tapas with red wine or sangria. delicious. I’ll be having a tapas party once I move…

Comment by Randi




Leave a comment