My Life – Above Ground


Holiday Daydreaming
November 28, 2008, 3:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

While stuffing my face yesterday, listening and watching my family around the table, the memories of spending past holidays far away from these same family members and friends – onboard the USS SEMMES and USS NICHOLAS in the late ’80s and early ’90s flooded my mind.  How I would daydream about my future life.

I distinctly remember one year during the Holiday season – I believe it was 1989.  Standing, or rather swaying back & forth – on the bow of the SEMMES, sea water spraying across my face and gazing into the dark water that is the North Atlantic, asking myself the self-examining question – where will I be in 5 years, 10 years, 20 years?  What will I be doing?  Where will I live?  How will I spend those future holidays?   

I’m sure you’ve done something like this too… daydream about what’s next.  What will be. 

In hindsight, I look back at all of the places I’ve been… all of the people that I’ve had the pleasure to spend the holidays with – the vast diversity of experiences:  from having a Cuban Thanksgiving in Panama, to having an authentic Italian Christmas in Santa Barbara, to being Santa Claus for over 100 kids at an orphanage in Los Angeles, to having my first Filipino Christmas in Eagle Rock, to deep-frying a Turkey in Long Beach, to having a Tennessee Thanksgiving in Wyoming, to having a family Thanksgiving vacation in Oklahoma… I never could have daydreamed any of that.  My reality has been better than my dreams.

It’s not so much about what’s next, rather, what has been… at least as it relates to the holidays.  I’ve truly lived a full life so far… for that, I’m grateful.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

